The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Strange problem ! Ns10m fault or amp fault ?
Old 15th October 2013
Strange problem ! Ns10m fault or amp fault ?

I bought an NS10M with an amp; ALESIS RA150. But I have already have a Samson Servo 260 amp too that I have never used before...

So I tried two amps on Ns10s and samson sounded better to my ears.

But after a while I realised that right speaker suddenly cuts the sound and if I turn the volume a little up whether from cubase, soundcard or amp.'s volume knobs the signal comes back again...

Than I tried it on Alesis I see that the problem is in my Samson amp...

Than I continued to use it with my Alesis amp but today the same problem came back !!!

Than I thought if I may misjudged my samson ! On that point I remember my 'passive' car audio speakers that I'm not using and hooked them to my Alesis amp but after 3 or 4 minutes same thing happened... One of the speakers cut the sound and came back after pushing the media players volume up...

So I exactly know that the problem is in my BOTH AMPS but is it a coincidence that two amps have the same faulty ? Can my NS10's cause a problem on amps whatever I use with them ? Is it sounding like a paranoia?

I'm really afraid to borrow an amp from my friend and hook it to my ns10's :D

Any commends, any suggestions ???
Old 15th October 2013
Gear Addict

It's not the NS10's and it's not the amps. It's probly a cable problem or the interface that you're connecting the amps to.
Old 15th October 2013
I tried lots of cables and tried it with both Motu and Steinberg interface... Also I have an adam a7x hooked my interface but I never have an issue like this...
Old 15th October 2013
Gear Addict

is it always on the same side?
Old 15th October 2013
No both sides randomly ...
Old 15th October 2013
Gear Addict