The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Recommend your best studio mic for $2000 or less
Old 12th October 2013
Gear Maniac

Recommend your best studio mic for $2000 or less

hey guys.....long timer lurker and i have been recording for over twenty years. I dont mind to spend money on gear and have dropped some pretty good money on stuff over the years.

i am currently looking to upgrade my mic situation in the studio. i would prefer to keep it at around $2000 or less, if possible....but i am open to spending more if its the right choice for me.

my uses for the mic will be primarily male vocal at about 85-90% and 10-15% acoustic guitar.

I've had my eye on a Lauten Audio Atlantis for a bit now and the reviews seem really really good.....so any thoughts on this mic would be appreciated, if any of you have experience with them......outside of that mic, I see many other that I think would be nice but I'm just not sure.

my current locker includes;

neumann tlm 103
rode nt2a
royer r-121
sennheiser md421II
Shure beta 57a
Old 12th October 2013
Lives for gear

Soundelux 251c sometimes come up for around that price.
Old 12th October 2013
ADK TT or Custom Shop TC...
Old 12th October 2013
JZ BH-1, Mojave MA-300 (multipattern version of MA-200) and Lauten Atlantis are three versatile contenders that come to mind. The JZ is cleaner overall than the Mojave; the Mojave has a silkier more colored vibe in comparison. The Lauten Atlantis is a 'swiss army knife' with its three switchable voicings. The just now shipping Peluso P-49 looks interesting (I haven't had the pleasure of hearing it yet), the frequency response shows it to be very neutral with no hype (meaning versatile in my book).
Old 12th October 2013
Lives for gear

Pearlman TM-1
Old 12th October 2013
Lives for gear