The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Do new headphones need breaking in?
Old 10th May 2013
Gear interested

Do new headphones need breaking in?

Hi there,

I'm a newb to this forum and I hope I'm posting this in the right section...

My question is: Do new headphones need "breaking in", or is that audiophool nonsense? I've definitely read it in some places over the net, but I've also read replies to the effect of "it's all humbug"...

My issue is this: I used to use Sennheiser HD-530 headphones and absolutely loved them. Then one day, I sat on them and they broke. (I know, I'm a terribly clumsy person...) The right phone is broken off in such a way that it couldn't be glued back. It still works, though, and it's easy to still put them on, and once you do that, they keep in place while listening.

Then one day I read that you could use headphones and microphones, so out of curiosity, I tried using them as microphones... plugged them into my computer's line-in and sang into the right phone (that it was broken off came in handy...). It "worked", but ofc it sounded crappy. Not that I'd expected otherwise; however, ever since then, that phone distorts on low bass notes (80 Hz and lower).

So I figured I should replace them - have absolutely no experience with headphones, LOVED the sound of those I had, and tried hard to find the same pair in a good condition for an okay price. I found a pair that looked factory new - even the foam stuff (? I'm not a native speaker) is still intact, which is almost never the case.