The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
The Art of Troubleshooting DAW Software
Old 6th May 2013
The Art of Troubleshooting

This is something I have been working on for the past 10 years. I am only now finding myself REALLY LIKING when I have to troubleshoot stuff. I am ENJOYING the challenge, and ENJOYING the results. I wish for this thread to discuss the process, likes and dislikes of troubleshooting procedures, any "pitfalls" of the time you spend doing it. Be sure to include any general "black art" skillz and stuff that comes in handy.

This is not only a "day-gig" for me, [because I am also an engineer with my own studio] but I have to help my clients daily over the phone, email and such [Because I am a Professional Gearslut] and I make a living helping my customers purchase "match made in heaven" boutique pro audio gear. I support my clients 24/7 to the best of my ability. Troubleshooting is an important aspect of my skill set. I want to keep growing it, beyond mear mortal abilities.

There is something intriguing me about the process of troubleshooting that grows your brain. It's like math....it forces you to think, and makes you keen to solve critical problems. All problem solving. A very important "human" aspect of audio engineering.

Discuss!

Old 6th May 2013
Village Idiot

Had to troubleshoot a GssL I was building last weekend. Learned more than I did while building it...

Troubleshooting is finding solutions to problems instead of hunting for problems for solutions in the learning-process. I think its dialectic though...maybe not..just rambling..

Gustav
Old 6th May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Mixwell View Post