The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Versatile bass drum mic on a budget
Old 13th December 2012
Gear Head

Versatile bass drum mic on a budget

Hi guys,

I'm looking for a mic to primarily record kick in the home studio, but will also be appropriate for live use as and when.

I am a drummer myself, and want to be able to get as much as possible from one mic for the time being (without asking too much!!). I'm just after a good, traditional bass drum sound. Not silly amounts of 'click', or unnecessary lows, but fairly neutral. I usually play a tight 20" Gretsch as my default kick, but sometimes use an 18" for jazz stuff.

Although I'm sure a specific kick mic (D112, D6, 52A etc) would work well enough for the more poppy sounding kick, it would be near useless on the 18" I'm guessing? I'd rather buy something more versatile but hopefully under £200.

Any suggestions?
Old 13th December 2012
Lives for gear

Audio technica ATM 250
Old 13th December 2012
Look for a used RE20. Great on kicks and lots of other things.
Old 13th December 2012
Gear Addict

My drummer is a big fan of the Heil PR48 I picked up, definitely worth a look.
Old 13th December 2012
Beyer m88. Great on bass drum, snare and Gtr amps if necessary.
Old 13th December 2012
Gear Maniac

I really like the Avantone Mondo.. and the price is hard to beat
Old 13th December 2012
Gear Guru

I've had good luck with the N/D868
Old 13th December 2012
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Famous Yard View Post
I second that.
Old 13th December 2012
"Versatile bass drum mix on a budget"

What is: RE-20?

Ding ding ding!!

I'll keep going with obvious microphone choices for 1,000, Mr. Trebek!
Old 13th December 2012
Gear Addict

He's comes a curve ball. 57.....
Old 13th December 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Famous Yard View Post
My favorite, but I find that mine needs to be rebuilt every 3 or 4 years or so.
Old 13th December 2012