The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Debating what mic pre/audio interface to go with.
Old 21st May 2012
Here for the gear

Debating what mic pre/audio interface to go with.

In the process of setting up my home studio and upgrading to better, more high-end equipment.

I am debating what combination of mic pre/audio interface to use for my set up. My main, and only purpose is to record vocals for voice over work.

Here are the options I am debating between (sorry if any of these are confusing, stupid, or don't make sense in terms of the "norm," I am still a bit new to all of this):

Option one: Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56 for audio interface and mic pre

Option two: Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 FireWire Interface with the Focusrite OctoPre MkII Dynamic as my mic pre.

Option three: Behringer XENYX X2222USB USB Mixer with Effects with Focusrite OctoPre MkII Dynamic as my mic pre.

Overall, I would like to know is option one better than the other two? And is the Focusrite Saffire interface a better choice than the Behringer mixer?

Thanks for all your help. All comments are much appreciated!
Old 21st May 2012
Lives for gear

If you're only recording vocals, all you need is a mic and one of the better two-channel interfaces: Apogee Duet, Sound Devices Usbpre2, or maybe a RME Babyface.
Old 21st May 2012
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgruff View Post
If you're only recording vocals, all you need is a mic and one of the better two-channel interfaces: Apogee Duet, Sound Devices Usbpre2, or maybe a RME Babyface.
Thanks, mcgruff. Know off any high quality two-channel interfaces, like the ones you listed, that have hook ups for monitors?
Old 21st May 2012
Lives for gear

The Usbpre2 has the best overall connectivity but they'll all connect to monitors no problem.
Old 21st May 2012
Here for the gear

Quote: