The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
learning an instrument
Old 8th May 2012
Gear Nut

learning an instrument

I want to learn an instrument, but I'm worried it might be too late to become proficient. Ideally I'd like to learn piano and guitar but I'm already 17 (almost 18) years old.

I begged my parents for a guitar back when I was like 8, we got a classical one and I started learning classical guitar and hated it...quit after a year. Then at the age of 12 I picked up the piano and kept at it for two years, reaching a pretty good level (I remember my teacher being impressed at how quickly I progressed). Unfortunately I become lazy and quit, now with the summer ahead I'm thinking about trying to properly learn an instrument.

The problem is I heard it's difficult as an adult because the neurones in your brain grow at a much slower pace...and that's supported by the fact that there are almost no famous musicians who started as adults. Which is pretty de-moralizing if I want to learn not one, but two instruments.

I don't need to be a virtuoso, but I'd like to be good enough to play in a band (on top of being able to use my skills on my production work). Should I stick to piano/keyboards or learn both piano and guitar? Over the summer I'll be able to play several hours a day, but by September it'd be something like half an hour a day. Is it worth it? Any examples of musicians who started over the age of 18 would be really encouraging too.

People say play for fun anyway, and I would have fun playing but I'd consider it a waste if I could never get really good. I could spend that time learning to mix/master properly, or learning music theory and just basic keyboard skills.

Thoughts? (sorry for the long post)
Old 8th May 2012
Lives for gear