The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
What mics to buy for drum overheads?
Old 23rd May 2006
Gear Head

What mics to buy for drum overheads?

Ok, I have been engineering for about 6 years in some Pro/ Semi Pro Facilities so I know the usual 414, sm81, km84 etc... But, I'm really curious about what drum overheads are really working well regardless of price and not just old faithfulls that don't really sound all that wonderful, they just have become a staple in the home or pro studios.
(No I am not trashing the above listed mics) heh

I need to purchase some new overheads and am really wanting to find the amazing but affordable pair i.e. $1,000 or less give or take.

I have heard great things about the SE stuff and some things about the Groove Tubes stuff (Have had great vocal and acoustic results with the GT66) as well as Audio Technica and a hundred other brands, but when I hear some of the products in action they sound brittle and very lackluster, so I figured I'd come to all of you and see what you recommend.

(Current Gear List)
Computer, Controller and Software
Mac G5 dual 2.0
Radikal sac-2k
Pro Tools 7.1 / Digital Performer 4.5 and a bunch of other stuff
Pre's
4ch Amek 9098 RCMA
Presonus Digimax
Stock 002
Compressors
DBX 166
2 DBX 160x
Converters
Apogee Rosettaheh
Presonus Digimax
Monitors
Event Asp8's
Mics
2 Audix d2's
1 Audix d3
1 Audix d4
1 Audix d6
1 Audix i5
Audix Fusion Drum Mic Pack
2 Shure 57's
1 AT 3528
1 Groove Tubes GT66
1 Shure Beta 58
Thanks All,
Trent
Old 23rd May 2006
Lives for gear

I have had good results with the a matched pair of GT 33's as well as 44's. They would probably fall in your price range and also work well on other things too. If price is no issue for you then an AKG C-24 wouldn't suck. I have awesome results with that stereo mic as well.
Old 23rd May 2006
Gear Maniac

Trent,

Is the Audix stuff really that bad?
Old 23rd May 2006
Lives for gear

there's about 10,000 ways to go.