The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Demeter silent speaker Cabinet.... Guitar players chime in?
Old 20th May 2006
Lives for gear

Demeter silent speaker Cabinet.... Guitar players chime in?

http://www.demeteramps.com/ "silent speaker cabinet" under the products menu.

a friend told me he uses one of these to cut guitar in a condo enviornment, instead of the pod type thing...

Anyone use this or similar? I need to cut guitars in the home studio, but volume is an issue.... and I'm pretty underwhelmed by the pod type virtual stuff.

( but what do I know, I'm a drummer)

any experience with these?

cz
Old 20th May 2006

Aidy Hall uses something similar...if he ever stops working he may get online and comment!
Old 20th May 2006
Lives for gear

I use the Randall version. It's a godsend. My wife would be sleeping and I'd be cutting Dual Recto guitars at 1:00am in our apartment. Now I have it in my studio closet, and use it as my main guitar recording cab. The bottom end can get a little overwhelmed by the Mesa mega bottom, but I also run a '68 Bassman head that sounds amazing together. It's a MUCH better way to go than a speaker sim (palmer style rack unit).
Old 20th May 2006
Gear Nut

I have the silentspeakercabinet for 2 years now. I like really dry, direct guitar sounds, especially with distorted tones. For clean and crunchy sounds I think the ssc is very nice, the more gain you use the more boxy the sound gets, for this I mostly prefere my marshall se100 and use the ssc as a real speaker for loading the amp. Ah yes, and I got better results by damping the inside of the box with lots of foam.
Best

shapemod
Old 20th May 2006
Lives for gear

I have a similar product- called a Hermit cab.
These sort of devices sound better than modelling amps, certainly.
You are not able to get a very open sound, so if you were intending on close micing anyway it is a good way to go.
I fine it is great with Fenders, Matchless and Marshalls, not so great with Mesa, Engl, Soldano.