The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Mesa boogie 4x12 oversize cab!
Old 20th May 2006
Here for the gear

Mesa boogie 4x12 oversize cab!

Hey guys, i'm pretty new to tthe pro guitar gear side of things, but was looking for a 4x12 and was looking at a new mesa oversize rectifier cab which I think contains 4 Vintage 30's. Just wondered what your thoughts were on pairing this up with a mesa triaxis and a simulclass 2:90? I want something pretty versatile, mostly for rock'n'roll, but that could potentially do some metal and also some laid back chilled out stuff. Some people have reviewed getting farting noises at high volume and that there's no midrange with this cabinet. Also wondering if Angled or straight would be better? If someone could explain? Would be great to hear your thoughts about this cab. Thanks guys.

Nico.
Old 20th May 2006
Gear Addict

Hey Nico,

I've played hard rock and metal all my life and have always been a big, mesa advocate. I have the tri/axis two/ninety set up as well. when turned up all the way with two, 4x12's it can be down right frightening! I haven't heard any difference (that I can tell) between the slanted and full cabs. (other than the full cab is better for sitting things on) the 4x12's are awesome cabs! very deep and moving. almost growling! with heavy distortion and down tuning. but! I heard one of the 2x12 "full back" recto cabs and felt it had a, "tighter" growl (if that makes any sense) so I ended up getting 2, 2x12 recto cabs. and sold one of my 4x12's. much easier to move I must say. I also incorporated a TC G force & a podxt pro as well. All I can say is, "wow, what can't I do now"? talk about the most insane tones and attitude. a very sanitary rig indeed. well, that's my rant! definitely check out the 2x12 cabs. I'm pretty sure you wont be disappointed. Klauth.
Old 20th May 2006
Lives for gear