The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Really simple noob question about compressors Dynamics Processors (HW)
Old 22nd March 2012
Gear Maniac
Really simple noob question about compressors

Hello everyone!

I'm really really new at the recording area, and I still know almost nothing about recording.
This is a really simple question.

Why do people use compressors ? (Doesn't matter if it is a plug-in or an analogue compressor, that is not the point)

What are the advantages of using compressors ? What does it add to the sound ?

Whenever I try to use compressor(the standard pro tools compressor) on anything (vox, bass, guitars, drums) the only thing I notice is a difference in the volume, and that whenever it would cilp, the compressor "holds" the sound in other not to clip.

I wonder, what else should I expect while using compressors...

And, BTW, it would be great if someone could send me a link of a tutorial of how to use compressors, I don't know how to deal with it, for example, what is ratio, attack, release, knee, what is the difference between input and output (for me they both just change the volume)... I searched for a tutorial but couldn't find it = /

Thanks a lot everyone already!
Old 22nd March 2012
Gear Maniac
160 views and nobody can tell me what is a compressor ?
Come on guys!! Help me out!
Old 22nd March 2012
Lives for gear

a compressor is a tool for controlling dynamics, or reshaping the dynamic envelope of a sound. It is a tricky art to learn. Most of us are still learning.

Threshold: the point at which the compressor is engaged.
Ratio: hmmm... the amount of volume compression relative to the original signal once the threshold is met.
Attack: the speed at which the compressor clamps on the signal. Too fast and the initial transient of the note is crushed.
Release: the time it takes for the compressor to stop compressing.