The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Home Studio for drums, let's talk gear. Condenser Microphones
Old 17th March 2012
Here for the gear

Home Studio for drums, let's talk gear.

Hey guys

This is my first post here (I'm a newbie to recording) so go easy!

I'm looking to start my own home studio for recording and mastering drum tracks. I want to record for as many people as I can as much as I can (Depending on how it turns out) I have done some research already as to what gear I'd be needing but am still undecided on a few things.

I need to get an interface, all the mics (i'm thinking 8) cables, stands and monitors. I'm looking for the best bang for buck and setting my budget at around $3000. (I've got a computer/drums already)

I'm going to buy most of my things on ebay as they are the best price I can find (I live in Australia, probably 90% of the stuff i'll be getting from US).

So, where i'm at so far.

The Interface - I've looked at either the M-Audio profire 2626 and a Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56 as the most likely to purchase.
The profire can be had for $530 and the Saffire at $830 (B-stock) I wonder if anyone has compared the two, do you think the $300-$400 increase is worth it to get the saffire? The liquid channels look pretty worth it. Putting the overhead mics in those pre amps would give me the ability to get some pretty varied drum sounds. Which seems good if i'm recording for different sounding bands/artists too. And the other preamps quality I would assume to be superior to m-audios as well..
In your opinion is it worth it, Or better spend on mics/elsewhere?

Mics:
Snare - SM 57 - $100 (Another for bottom, undecided)
Bass - AKG D112 - $150
Overheads - 2x Oktava mk 012 $450 (Or around $800 with the jolly mod. These have been compared to Neumanns when modded)
Toms - 3x Sennheiser e604 - $350