The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Bass Fuzz Recommendations?
Old 15th May 2006
Gear Nut

Bass Fuzz Recommendations?

Lads,

The title pretty much sums it up, Im after picking up some pedals to run bass guitars through. Im thinking along the lines of that NIN fuzz sound that seems to be quite popular right now. But Im open to all suggestions... any thing that sounds cool!

As always, cheers fellas

TB
Old 15th May 2006
Lives for gear

this is so wierd...
i was talking to 'richmondjames' in PM's about guitar pedals and he recommended the Voodoo Lab SuperFuzz. I got one on eBay for $90 and it just arrrived this morning.
My guitar wasn't handy so i tested it out through my Rhodes and also through a Fender Deluxe Jazz Bass. I started playing some NIN lines on the Bass. (thats the wierd part).

its got a real good sound. the 'resonance' knob makes it great for bass as it brings out some of the low harmonics. Pretty flexible fuzz. I recommend it if you want to fuzz up anything, be it bass, guitar, a vocal, or electric piano.

if you'd like, i can PM you some samples of it on bass.
Old 15th May 2006
Lives for gear

The black Russian made Big Muff is cheap and a great bass fuzz.

I also like the Prescription Yardbox as well.
Old 16th May 2006

If the Russian Big Muff is anything like the original - I'd definitely try it out. There is just something furry about that box....

-tINY

Old 16th May 2006
Gear Maniac

I believe the Big Muff was used on the bass on the track "Kate" by Ben Folds Five. That should give you a good idea of the sound. Good track too.
Old 16th May 2006
Lives for gear

I find that the best way to get that kind of nasty-ass industrial growl is with sample rate and bit rate reduction. There's a cool plugin made by Audio Damage that does that, plus fuzz and distortion. It's called Master Destrukto.

It's at least worth checking it out. I use it on bass and on snare drums all the time.
Old 16th May 2006
Gear Maniac
bass fuzz

Hey,