Analog Console - Get out of the Box
Old 1st March 2012
Gear Head

Analog Console - Get out of the Box

Hey guys. I have been recording and mixing on Protools TDM systems since 2000. I have an HD3 and good variety of outboard gear. Last year, I moved into a new C|24, after mixing on a Control 24 for about 4 years before that. I've had pretty good results using the C|24 for drums and other nicer outboard stuff for instruments and vocals. I have a daughter that was recently signed to a publishing deal with Universal, so I mix Pop, Rock, Pop, a have few Metal clients. I even did a funk band and Tex-Mex project. For the most part, I am pleased with the results I have gotten.

After having the opportunity to work for a national recording artist in an all analog environment, my interested in analog has been reignited. I purchased a very low hours Otari MTR-90 II and happened into a nice 16 track head stack for it. I have been bouncing tracks around in and out of protools for the past year, but feel compelled to move into an analog board. I have been looking for a few months, while reading a lot here. There are a few choices available locally and I wanted to run them buy the board here. I know there are a lot of bright cats here. If you feel like sounding in, its all good.

There is a nice Sony MXP-3036 here. It has all entry stock transformer less press, and entry level fixed Q EQ's. I know they are very modular, and can even find some upgraded variable Q and parametric EQ's fairly readily. All in all a very nice clean board that seems like a solid choice. I did spend some time looking at Trident Flexi-mix and Trimix boards. I have had a tough time turning the crank on the leads. There is an Otari Concept One out here for really cheap, but I kind of know its not what I want. Am I crazy to consider a Soundcraft 6000? What are your thoughts on the stock entry level Sony MXP-3036? Should I consider a Soundcraft to get started out of the box?