The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
The best recording book of all time
Old 11th May 2006
Lives for gear

The best recording book of all time

I have read some old books about the whole recording process from the beginning to the end (tracking -> mastering). Currently I am studying for a certification exam in Software Engineering (MCPD distributed applications, .NET 2005) and I am reading this really well written reference book (written in 2006) that also has a real-world approach on the subjects in the book. It's really thick and the information has been revised by many professionals. I would love to read a recording book with the same amount of value, which really has a real-world approach and try to reveil the secrets behind doing successul recordings and where the writer understands what the reader wants to read about and get knowledge in and what he himself writes about, so that it would work as a reference book as well with really high quality and modern content. The last book I read was "A Mixing Engineer's Handbook" by Bobby Owsinski, which I thought was good and interesting but didn't contain any information about psychoacoustic sound effects that are very important for a good sound and image, how to enhance musical vibe in a mix, the sound quality difference between hardware and software, how to mix for loudness/clearity, how to deal with gear choice, examples of what bad monitoring results in, thoughts about the current trend and what it might look like in the future etc. The approach of interviewing people was great, if they would have said the same thing... heh But then when different professionals say different things or the same thing in different ways it gets frustrating to read.

So, have you read any book that you think I might like, where the writer is like a monster on the subject? If it sounds good, I'll buy it... heh
Old 11th May 2006
Gear Nut

Bob Katz: Mastering Audio, The Art & The Science

It's all in there...
Old 11th May 2006
Lives for gear