The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Beach Boys "The Making of Pet Sounds"
Old 11th May 2006
Lives for gear

Beach Boys "The Making of Pet Sounds"

This is an amazing cd set!!!! I am only 23 but believe that Brian Wilson was/is the most amazing pop music writer or at least music arranger ever!!!! But this cd set lets you into their sessions.... crazy how they recorded back then and how great it came out. You get to hear how the songs actually came together in the studio....

Any fans must get this and non-fans give it a shot as well!!! Hell I am a mixing engineer in the hip-hop world for now and I cant stop listening to this stuff.

Tracks like Wouldnt it be nice and God only knows.... some of the greatest songs ever!
Old 11th May 2006
Gear Addict

Pet Sounds is a really amazing album - frankly I can't stand any other beach boys album, but this is an amazing piece of work.
Old 11th May 2006
Gear Maniac

Hmm. And Orson Welles was only 26 when Citizen Kane was released.

Better get crackin', dude.
Old 11th May 2006
Led
Lives for gear

God only knows - yes, I'm not into that sort of style, but it makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up. Truly one of the greatest songs ever written. The chord structure is amazing.
Old 11th May 2006
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by cap217
This is an amazing cd set!!!!
Are you talking about the 'Pet Sounds Sessions' box set?

'Pet Sounds' should really be done for the 'Classic Albums' DVD series!
Old 11th May 2006
Lives for gear

the box set has the entire album in a capella. really, really, really incredible.
Old 11th May 2006
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by seaneldon
the box set has the entire album in a capella. really, really, really incredible.
I go the 'Good Vibrations' box set and there's a 'bonus' CD with (among many other wonderful things) a vocals-only mix of 'California Girls'. It's great beyond description.

Last edited by doorknocker; 11th May 2006 at 12:42 PM..
Old 11th May 2006
Lives for gear