The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Ramsa converters w/ 002 clock troubles
Old 7th May 2006
Gear Addict

Ramsa converters w/ 002 clock troubles

I've been using the Ramsa WZ AD96 for a few years with a Digi 002...using the adat clocking option in Pro Tools LE. I had been using the Alesis AI-3 for my D/A converters. Never a problem.
I just picked the Ramsa WZ DA96...but I haven't been able to figure out how to have the Ramsa's clock the 002... w/o clicking and jitter....

I made the AD96 the master and connected the AD and DA together with BRC cable via the Word Clock out/in. It should be working but I'm still getting a little snap, crackle and pop...unless i use the Pro Tools LE internal clock, which i dont want to use.

Hope this makes sense....
If anyone has any thoughts or experience....please help.

Thanks so much
Old 7th May 2006
Lives for gear

Pin change in the Ramsa

I don't know if you know this but in order to have the Ramsa send clock, you have to open it up and do a pin change so that it works as a master clock or from the internal crystal.

You can find detailed information about this on the DA7.com forum. Do a search there and you'll find it.

http://www.da7.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=forum;f=1

I did the pin change and my Ramsa works perfectly well with my RME Fireface, with the Ramsa as Master clock.

Good Luck,
Peace
Marco

Quote:
Originally Posted by T. Morgan
I've been using the Ramsa WZ AD96 for a few years with a Digi 002...using the adat clocking option in Pro Tools LE. I had been using the Alesis AI-3 for my D/A converters. Never a problem.
I just picked the Ramsa WZ DA96...but I haven't been able to figure out how to have the Ramsa's clock the 002... w/o clicking and jitter....

I made the AD96 the master and connected the AD and DA together with BRC cable via the Word Clock out/in. It should be working but I'm still getting a little snap, crackle and pop...unless i use the Pro Tools LE internal clock, which i dont want to use.