The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
In ear monitor set up - problems!
Old 19th January 2012
Here for the gear

In ear monitor set up - problems!

Hi guys I am really hoping someone can help me. I have been using IEM for 4-5 years. Recently I was forced to take some time off touring so decided to develop my gear so it was more consistent from venue to venue.

I have always ran:

Shure beta58
JTS SIEM 101(r) - limiting off (when in a 5 piece/heavy rock)
Earphones - Had some Shure E2Cs, one day they got flatter/weaker and from then on I loved them.

After the E2C's died I tried replacing them with SCL2, I always found these way too harsh and struggle to rehearse with them. I recently bought a DBX IEM unit to hopefully add a consistent reverb (reverb in ear helps me loads live) to every performance. However I am finding using the DBX that I don't feel enough clean signal. I feel too distant from the guys and can struggle with songs that I know inside and out pitch perfect.

I am now debating selling the dbx iem and just buying a Yamaha REV100 (I always liked Yamaha reverbs, lexicon on DBX IEM are too processed). Could anyone suggest whether this may help?

Also

I am just trying to work out, could it be my scl2's messing it all up, I bought some scl5's not too long ago too and also found them WAY too harsh (I run my IEM pretty loud, in the red a lot - yea, I know). I am now considering some Westone UM1's, I have a low budget but just want something more 'cushioned'? Is that the right term? The SCL2's just feel too harsh.

Any help would be massivly appreciated!

ps. This is not a self plug but find some of my music here (I only say this because I have a VERY full on vocal sound and thought this might help you guys better understand. I like to feel VERY close to the vocal with a nice reverb warmth in there too).

The Mercy House | Free Music, Tour Dates, Photos, Videos