The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Best 8-mic input interface for the buck?
Old 17th January 2012
Gear Nut

Best 8-mic input interface for the buck?

Hey guys, there is so much gear that I need in order to do a whole band recording but right now I'd say the most important is a new interface.

I use a macbook pro, and have been stuck with my mbox2 for over three years - now I'm finally in a financial place where I can upgrade.

I have been considering either the Tascam 1800 or the M-Audio Fast Track Ultra 8R. By all means I am open to any piece of gear though, if someone has a different suggestion.

Mainly what I am looking for is at least 8 inputs with pretty decent pres. I'm a Pro Tools user, so I think I'm going to bite the bullet and pay for the Pro Tools 10 upgrade so that I don't have to use an Avid interface (I'm still on Pro Tools 7).

I'd like to hit around the $500 price range. Do you guys think that would be possible with what I am looking for?
Old 17th January 2012
Gear Addict

Focusrite pro 40 would be another option.
Old 17th January 2012
Gear Head

Yes, I would also say Focusrite in this price range.
Old 17th January 2012
Lives for gear

I like the M-Audio Profire 2626.
Old 17th January 2012
Gear Nut

Do you guys have any experience with these pieces? I know it isn't going to be the same as a 2 grand unit, but I'm looking for something that I will be pleased with and will want to keep for a long time.
Old 18th January 2012
Gear Nut

bump
Old 18th January 2012
Here for the gear

I love my MOTU 8pre, the converters are clean and the pres are nice. Another bonus is the fact that you can chain 4 of em together.
Old 18th January 2012

No-one has tried them all, but from what I have tried I would recommend the m-audio 2626, or the Mackie Onyx

m
Old 18th January 2012
Lives for gear

Quote: