The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Help Me Classify Some EQ's & Compressors
Old 22nd December 2011
Gear Head

Help Me Classify Some EQ's & Compressors

Looking to pick up 2 new software compressors and 2 new software EQs. I am an electronica producer and mainly produce using synthetic sounds. I'm looking for compressors and EQ's which would work well using synthetic sounds. I don't like to use the same EQ and compressor for everything, so can anyone please list a few good EQs and compressors out there and what instruments they colour best?

I have a few of them but many were impulse buys before I really dug into seeing what they work best on. When it comes to compressors and equalizers I don't have a very good ear at picking up which instruments they work best on.

Currently I have:

Compressors
Softube Tube-Tech CL 1B
Solid State Logic Duende Bus Compressor
Waves C1 Compressor
Waves Renaissance Compressor
URS 1980 Classic Console Vintage Compressor

EQs
Waves Renaissance 4-Band EQ
Waves Linear Broadband EQ
Eiosis AirEQ
SPL PassEQ
PSPaudioware Neon HR
Old 22nd December 2011
Lives for gear

Definitely Acustica Nebula. There's a great free version with some of the best EQs, compressors and all the other goodies. For Electronica I'd recommend it because the EQs are so phat, especially the API-"inspired" ones.
Old 22nd December 2011
Gear Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by FShkreli View Post
Looking to pick up 2 new software compressors and 2 new software EQs. I am an electronica producer and mainly produce using synthetic sounds. I'm looking for compressors and EQ's which would work well using synthetic sounds. I don't like to use the same EQ and compressor for everything, so can anyone please list a few good EQs and compressors out there and what instruments they colour best?