The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Gear changeover (PT,I/O,controller etc.) DAW Software
Old 5th November 2011
Gear Nut

Gear changeover (PT,I/O,controller etc.)

Hi everybody!

I am a professional Finnish songwriter-producer and until now I've had my songs mixed at other studios, but now I'm just getting my new facilities finished and would like to get a system that would allow me to get the guys come and mix some songs at my studio. Currently my recording setup is as follows:

MacPro 2 x 2.66
Yamaha 02r96 (also used as the master clock)
M-Audio Profire for ADAT transfer between Mac and Yamaha
Plenty of mics (2 x Soundelux, U87, Gefell etc.) and 9 channels of quality preamps (Great river and API, no digital outs)

I don't know very much about what's going on in the field of I/O devices and master clocks. Since I've just got an expensive studio+my own house built it'd be great if I could keep the budget reasonable. I know I need to get Pro Tools and at least 24 inputs. I'd also like to use at least a couple of external reverbs and at least one external synth module. So here's a couple of possible choices:

1. To buy Pro Tools 10, HD native and the required I/O systems, using Yamaha 02r96 to control Pro Tools. I've got plenty of Universal Audios plug-ins so is it possible to program Yamaha to control them? So this way I could control e.g. some of the EQs from Yamaha?

2. To buy Pro Tools 10 and upgrade my MacPro (possibly using my MacBook also via nodes) so it might be powerful enough for my purposes. In this scenario I could either keep the Yamaha mixer or sell it and buy a controller, some I/O devices and possibly a master clock instead. I wonder if it's possible to have an all native system strong enough to run some 60 tracks with automation and plenty of effects (though UAD-2s helpl a lot)?