The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Thinking about moving to LA for audio engineering school, advice please.... Drum Machines & Samplers
Old 19th September 2011
Lives for gear

Thinking about moving to LA for audio engineering school, advice please....

I need some opinions and advice, please.

I'm thinking about going to Musician's Institute in LA for Audio Engineering. I want to go to school to learn more about this art.

Some background:

I'm 23, I have a bachelor's degree in communication/advertising, but I now have the opportunity and money to learn what I've always wanted to and I am going to take it. I want to do this for my own good. My goal is not to become a rockstar, or a super producer/audio engineer, or be famous. If the opportunities come I will take them. I am desperate though to network and meet people that share my same vision and passion for music. I am not desperate for a job in the "industry" and I will be OK financially. I'd like to start again in a new city.

I went to college in Miami (FIU), but I am currently living and working in Nicaragua. My family also lives here. I honestly don't like living here, it's not the place for a young guy to live or work. I am getting out of here in 2012. I'm single, I don't have any kids and I have the financial support to start off. I am a U.S. citizen, so I have no problem living or going back to the U.S.

I have an uncle that lives in San Bernardino, CA and knows LA pretty well, but I don't have any friends there. I will be starting from zero.
Transportation and finding a safe place to live won't be much of a problem. I will have a car and I will be able to find a nice apartment in a gated community or nice building. I have experience living by myself.

I have been to LA before for some Logic Studio certification workshops and everyone I met was incredibly friendly.