The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Where to move? Books
Old 16th September 2011
Gear Maniac

Where to move?

So my wife and I are thinking of relocating. Tampa is just dead.

I am a musician, a Full Sail grad, with basically a minimum wage job. I want to be in the music industry in some form or another and have my choices down to Nashville, Los Angeles, Boulder, possibly San Fran...

Can anyone give me some tips on these cities as far as live music scene is, recording scene, just music in general.

I'd love to travel to each city but I just cant afford to do that.

If anyone can offer up any advice it would be much appreciated!!

Jim
Old 16th September 2011
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by kleraudio View Post
So my wife and I are thinking of relocating. Tampa is just dead.

I am a musician, a Full Sail grad, with basically a minimum wage job. I want to be in the music industry in some form or another and have my choices down to Nashville, Los Angeles, Boulder, possibly San Fran...

Can anyone give me some tips on these cities as far as live music scene is, recording scene, just music in general.

I'd love to travel to each city but I just cant afford to do that.

If anyone can offer up any advice it would be much appreciated!!

Jim
if you are talking jobs then it is the same everywhere
cities with more activity have more people there trying to get a slice of the action

get a job first
move to that city

you cant afford to move to some city that somebody claims is hot for music only to discover no work and you have to move again to get a job

that said
nashville or la or nyc

forget boulder completely
san fran not better than many other places like baltimore and even miami
Old 16th September 2011
Lives for gear
Where to move?

I guess it's time for an update of an old joke:

The physics grad asks "why does it work?"