The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
School of Studer A800 MkIII
Old 16th September 2011
Here for the gear

School of Studer A800 MkIII

I am looking to buy a Studer A800 MkIII which is lying pretty dormant in a local studio, trouble is I have limited experience with analog Tape and next to no experience with these machines but I have been generously allowed to to spend as much time as I need learning the machine before deciding to buy. (it's not going anywhere basically) I'm its only friend at this point in time.

In time I would pay to have it fully refurbished but I need to determine what does and doesn't work properly before that can happen.

There is nobody around I can ask to teach me what I need to know therefore I have to learn on my own though help from yourselves (I know there are many generous people contributing) and other information I can get online or in books etc.

I guess what I'm looking for is resources where I can learn as much as possible about the correct way to operate and maintain these beautiful machines. I know it needs some work doing to it (for example) I'm pretty sure the first 8 tracks aren't playing back anything, I did find a reel of test tones and nothing on the meters there but there is on 9-24 and they sounded fine. I'm sure there would likely be other things. I'll have the heads looked at soon.

the hours are - 0 5878 - is this Low?

I know I may come across as the sort of person that should not be allowed such a machine but I consider my self very experienced with all other aspects of the studio from digital recording to large format consoles but analog tape is an area of the industry I really want to experiment with.

so from someone passionate about music and doing things the right way please help!!
Old 16th September 2011
Lives for gear

Well there is a lot to learn. Here's what I did.