The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
How do compressors change TONE ? Effects Pedals, Units & Accessories
Old 15th September 2011
Lives for gear

How do compressors change TONE ?

Hi all,

I've never really used compressors for much more than level control .. and almost never during tracking.

So I am curious about how compressors change TONE ?
For example, a model like the PBC-6A ... i.e specifically compressors that are NOT tube based.

i.e. How they technically achieve tonal changes, and what those tone changes normally would be (i.e. warming, thickening ect ect ect).

Thanks all.
Old 15th September 2011
Lives for gear

I'm no expert here...but

Not all comps will change tone.
Some will in a subtle way
other/s like certain old tube ones are not subtle

It's the components in the audio path and how they deal with voltage that change the tone...not so much the compression itself unless the voltage swings affect the responce of other componets that are in a critiacal part of the audio path.Then there are transformers which can also change the sound depending on the make.

Every and any electronic component in an audio path will change tone by slowing down and creating a loss in voltage and then even more change in the tone through make up and recovery of that voltage down the line.Certain critical pieces in the audio path like a tube and the type of tube will react to voltage in certain way verses a solid state device.
Old 15th September 2011
Read this, audio compressor tips. its something i put together that is very straightforward and easy to understand. It has everything you need to know about compressors.
Old 15th September 2011
Gear Head