The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
need some subwoofer "schooling" Studio Monitors
Old 14th September 2011
Gear Head

need some subwoofer "schooling"

I mix in a 15X13 well-treated room on adam a7's.

I like my setup, but sometimes the adam's can be a bit light on the bass side.

I was thinking about getting a sub 8 to remedy this. However, I've never used a sub before and find a lot of conflicting information regarding placement online vs. the pretty light amount of information in the sub8 manual.

--------

1. I had heard in the past that subwoofers should always be placed "against a wall." Is that not necessarily true?

2. I've also read that the sub should be placed close to your main monitors and horizontally in line with them. So, if the monitors are 2 feet from the wall, does that mean that it is okay for a subwoofer to be 2 feet from the wall as well?

Any help / direction would be appreciated. Thanks!
Old 14th September 2011
Here for the gear

I would recommend that you first watch the Pensado’s Place episode with Bob Hodas (episode 21). There is some good info in there about subs. You can also read some of the articles on Bob Hodas’ website (www.bobhodas.com I think). First I recommend that you try moving your monitors closer to the back wall before you commit to buying a sub. Doing this will increase the bass response due to loading, but it will also decrease your front-to-back (or depth of) stereo field.