The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Is it ever going to stop?
Old 9th September 2011
Lives for gear

Is it ever going to stop?

This is about the creation of new analog audio devices...preamps, comps, eq, etc... It's beginning to seem like every possibility is already available. I just viewed an ad showing ANOTHER eq for the 500 rack and got thinking...what doesn't already exist? One of the reasons I bring this up is that I'm a student of electrical engineering and at one point had the goal of being involved with the design of analog audio gear. I just can't see that market going anywhere though.

Ideas?
Old 9th September 2011
I'd start designing applications and interfaces for Tablet PC's. That will probably be a huge market in the near future.
Old 9th September 2011
There are many great and innovative analog devices being designed. I have a few myself.

However, the uncertainty with the government and economic policies that don't encourage developement, many including myself are holding back until the economy improves or a major change in goverment ensues.
Old 9th September 2011
Lives for gear

There will always be a market for new designs. The population is constantly expanding, old companies constantly folding, and newer, cheaper technologies are always being developed and integrated. Even a single model of microphone, like the AKG C414 went from having 3 active stages to 17 stages within 20 years.

It's just like with songs. There will always be a market for new ones, even if the old ones are still good enough. And thank goodness for that! We're alive now, and some of us like designing new circuits and writing new songs. We'd be kinda screwed otherwise