The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Placement of kick mics (inside and outside) Dynamic Microphones
Old 8th September 2011
Here for the gear

Placement of kick mics (inside and outside)

Hi forum. I'm new to engineering and have been reading this forum a lot, but have some questions as I run my first session. I would like to experiment with 2 mics on kick drum, but want to clarify about placement. I am trying a 421 for inside and an AKG D12e for outside.

How far into the hole should I put the inside mic? I will experiment for sounds, but does inside mean anywhere from poking into the hole, to extended all the way, inches from the beater head?

If there is a mic inside, the outside mic can't also fit in front of the hole. Do I therefore place it just on the skin next to the hole, and experiment with placement from a few inches off the head, to a few feet back?

Or does it make more sense to put the 421 on the beater side of the drum, so I can keep the D12E in the hole? Not sure how to get a mic inside, and a mic on the hole outside.
Old 8th September 2011
Lives for gear

How far in to place the inner mic depends on the type of sound you want, and the amount of damping in the drum. Generally, the farther in you place the mic, the more attack you will pick up. Just inside the hole, you'll get more tone. I generally prefer considerable damping in my kick drums, and rarely need to get more attack, therefore I place my inner kick mic just inside the hole. In a boomier kick (i.e. undamped), you may need to get the mic further inside to balance the attack against the increased amount of tone.