The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Help needed with approaching studio/engineers Dynamic Microphones
Old 6th September 2011
Here for the gear

Help needed with approaching studio/engineers

Hey all!

I'm pretty new to the community (posting at least, been reading for several months now), my name is Chris and I live in the Capitol Region of New York.

This seems like the right forum to post, if its not I do apologize. I have searched for answers but alas, I haven't found a decent one. Any advice should be helpful folks!

So here's the story, as stated I'm new to this section of the music business, fresh out of College with a degree in Music Composition and realized production is what I really want to do (recording, producing, mixing, etc.). I finally feel as if I am fluent enough in Analog gear, Pro Tools, setting up sessions (physically and in Pro Tools) and troubleshooting to get into a studio (where of course I'll have my ass handed to me, a challenge I will gleefully accept) and get some type of experience that could land me a paid job. I'm not so ignorant to think I could not pay my dues, so I was looking to offer my services to local studios and have even consider paying for time (instead of going to schooling route again, even an SAE or Recording Connection path) in order to get my feet soaked.

So here's the question; If you got a call, email or visit from a random person you've never met asking for your time, knowledge, and studio space (even though I'm offering a free service, and possibly offering compensation for your time) what would you want to know? What kind resume should I put together?