The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Analog mixer mackie 1604 vlz to mbox pro 3 Audio Interfaces
Old 3rd September 2011
Here for the gear

Analog mixer mackie 1604 vlz to mbox pro 3

I'm trying to find out what people think about using the pre amps on the mackie 1604 to mbox pro 3. Would this defeat the higher end pres on my mbox pro because the 1604 pres are not as clean Just wondering. I wanted to get an analog mixing console to go to my mbox that has a similar routing matrix as large format consoles with tones of inputs and output options. Any thoughts on the matter. I'm about to purchase one
Old 3rd September 2011
Gear Addict
I have no personal experience with the MBox3, but i've used a 1604-VLZ3
at our band's rehearsals. I don't think the pres on the MBox3Pro is that
much better than those on the VLZ3.

It's really great to have a console when mixing/recording and the VLZ3 is
a good mixer for it's prize IMO. Have you checked out other mixers?

- A&H
- Soundcraft
- Mackie's Onyx series (with Firewire interface)

Have you thought about how you are going to connect it to the mBox3?
Old 3rd September 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterCrab View Post
I have no personal experience with the MBox3, but i've used a 1604-VLZ3
at our band's rehearsals. I don't think the pres on the MBox3Pro is that
much better than those on the VLZ3.
How can you have an opinion on the mbox3 pres compared to the mackie, if you've never used one of them?!
Old 3rd September 2011
Here for the gear