The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
LA610 & 6176 @ 115v or 230v Channel Strips
Old 3rd September 2011
Gear Nut

LA610 & 6176 @ 115v or 230v

Ok the fact that I'm even asking this question reminded me that one of the things on my " to do " list was to get some books on basic electrical / 101 electricians manuals . I'm an idiot when it comes to that field but I feel like a bigger idiot considering that I record bands for a living ( I put it that way instead of saying engineer ) and don't know a lot of electrical basics . I'm on it as of tomorrow . In the meantime I'd appreciate it if someone could answer a few quick questions
1. Should I operate my 6176 and La610 at 115v or 230v ?
2. Briefly , why ?
3. If you own any UA gear do you know what it's set to by default ? I'm not in front of my gear .

These questions came up when I bought another LA610 used . When it came in the mail I noticed there was a fuse taped to it and I wondered why . Since I never switched whatever UA had it set to I didn't even know it could be switched ( which would call for a different fuse )
Any info would be awesome !
Have a great evening
Old 3rd September 2011
dsl
Gear Nut

You should run it @ whatever Voltage the Country you live in runs.

US = 115V

Germany (etc) = 230V

Here's a list:

http://www.kropla.com/electric2.htm
Old 3rd September 2011
Gear Nut

Another noob elec question . Why is the setting 115 v ? Bc some countries are 110 and some are 120?

Also , the unit I bought was used in the US but upon inspection it seems it was used at 230v . Would that have done any damage to gear ?
Thanks
Old 3rd September 2011
Gear Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by oulablank View Post
Another noob elec question . Why is the setting 115 v ? Bc some countries are 110 and some are 120?