The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Could this be the Best way to mix ITBs? (Plural) Consoles
Old 2nd September 2011
Could this be the Best way to mix ITBs? (Plural)

I could have discovered a new and maybe important improvement in the way to mix ITBs. If this is old news please forgive my enthusiasm and making myself look like a fool. If this is new and news, I would love to get other people thoughts and possible experiments with the technique. First I would like to share a brief overview of my reasons for this discovery.

I am a rather old school engineer/producer. Started recording on a 2 track Revox and then moved up to a 4 track, then 8 track, then 16 track Tascams. Finally graduated to a 24 track Otari with a Trident board and too much outboard gear. I have recorded 100's of albums over the somewhat long years of my career. I have fought hard to keep the analog sound alive but at the same time invested in some pretty good Black Lion Converter upgrades, Wave plugins, TC Powercore 6000 and most recently the Wave MPX and Slates VCC. I am happy to report that the VCC and MPX have taken away the digital edge and added that stereo imaging and mid range fullness I was used to hearing off the board.

Finally the ITB mixes are sounding as good (to me) as my analog mixes and sometime even better.

But I found I still had a problem. My mixes are often large and also have many virtual keyboards so I am pushing my CPU and usually have to run the buffer at 1024. The sound of the mix coming out of the speakers is fantastic but when I bounce to disk the stereo imaging goes out the window and somehow some of the harsh digital sounds seems to come back which the VCC and MPX so elegantly improved.