The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
How to mix an hardrock/metal song Multi-Ef­fects Plugins
Old 1st September 2011
Gear Addict

How to mix an hardrock/metal song

Hi everyone...

First of all, sorry for my pretty bad english...
I'm a young engineer and I have little bit experience in mixing pop / hiphop and soft rock recordings...

I'm about to mix an hard rock song but I'm pretty worried because I don't know anything about that: I listen a lot of hard rock and heavy metal and have my favourites sounds and engineer (Andy Wallace) and also my basic ideas, but really don't know how to achieve that result (or at least something similar, especially for the definition of every single instrument)...

I'm going to mix this on a great studio with a good Neve VR so I basically have all the technical resources I need, but I miss some techniques or at least some basic tips..

The song features drums, bass, vox and obviously a lot of guitar, which were recorded with 5 microphones for every track: SM57, MD421, U87, 414 and a ribbon mic... they were recorded placing all mics in front of the amp and then looking for a great sound on the amplifier head, so I think I'll bring every mic in the mix at his original level.

That makes me completely crazy, I've already mixed things with lot of tracks but never songs like this, with dozens of heavy distorted guitars... I think I'll compress everything a lot to contain dynamics but I'm pretty worried about panning and EQ (for example I saw people mixing this kind of music with strong eq's on some guitars like cut everything above 10KhZ), especially because I don't have much time to do this (about 12 hours) and so not much time to try different solutions...

I know it's a hard question but please suggest your ideas or give me some basic tips (things that everyone does, etc...)
Old 1st September 2011