The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Studiomaster Mixdown Classic 8-24 DAW Software
Old 10th August 2011
Gear Head

Studiomaster Mixdown Classic 8-24

I have a Studiomaster Mixdown Classic 24 channel 8 bus coming. I should have it by the end of next week. I paid $700.00 for it shipped including the meter bridge and power supply. My question is, does anyone have any input on this board. A lot of what I have read is mostly positive feedback. It has a lot of very useful features, and it's supposed to have some decent pre's and a decent eq. I want to use it so I can start mixing out of the box. Any feedback or advice would be helpful. I will be using it with Pro Tools 8 and a digi002 with the blacklion audio mod, I also have a emperical labs distressor and a few other pieces of outboard gear.

Did I make a good buy?
Old 26th November 2011
Gear Head

I own two

I find it interesting that you found the mixdown classic in good company! Normally this is not the standard response. I do own two of these and I have had good success to this point, but usually as a monitor board for the studio and not a "mix OTB" as you have asked about. This does not mean you cannot get good results, just make sure you have clean power to the power supply. I used normal utility power on mine, then went to separately derived source, i.e. transformer or in my case balanced power. Since that time, my noise floor dropped tremendously and there exists so littly noise that my sub human ear cannot hear any noise at all! Again, I am currently using these consoles as monitor boards. FWIW, I will go against the grain and say, it is a good console for monitoring and basic OTB projects, but I think you will find the board lacking for professional head-to-head competition to many like consoles on the market (Allen&Heath, Focusrite). Let me know how it turns out!!!
Old 26th November 2011