The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Help: Setting up a studio
Old 28th July 2011
Here for the gear

Help: Setting up a studio

Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie, my first post. And I'm looking for some advice on setting up a home studio.

Basically I have an iMac, Intel Core 2 Duo, 3.33GHz, its not very old & just toying with Garageband at the moment. However I would like to stretch the potential a bit more...

And basically wondered if you guys could guide me on the ideal basic set-up which can then be easily upgraded once I feel more confident?

I want to use Midi/keyboard controllers, record vocals, maybe 1 or 2 mic's and also record guitar parts, later on possibly adding drums.

So looking for:

1) Microphones,
2) Monitors,
3) Midi/keyboard controllers,
4) Headphones,
5) Soundcards,
6) Audio Interfaces
7) Software.
8) and anything I may have missed/or recommendations.

My preferred styles are R&B, Soul, Blues, Folk, Indie, Rock (bit eclectic) - and do my best to stay away from Pop - but still give it a go if it helps :-s

Thanks guys, look forward to your valued input.
Old 28th July 2011
Gear Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by DMSock10 View Post
Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie, my first post. And I'm looking for some advice on setting up a home studio.

Basically I have an iMac, Intel Core 2 Duo, 3.33GHz, its not very old & just toying with Garageband at the moment. However I would like to stretch the potential a bit more...

And basically wondered if you guys could guide me on the ideal basic set-up which can then be easily upgraded once I feel more confident?

I want to use Midi/keyboard controllers, record vocals, maybe 1 or 2 mic's and also record guitar parts, later on possibly adding drums.

So looking for:

1) Microphones,
2) Monitors,
4) Headphones,
5) Soundcards,
6) Audio Interfaces
7) Software.