The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
need some help with next recording project (classic home vs studio questions) Dynamic Microphones
Old 16th June 2011
Gear Maniac

need some help with next recording project (classic home vs studio questions)

hey guys, gonna try to keep this as sweet and non ranty as possible.

I am a solo artist and I write and compose all my music by myself, play drums, bass, guitar etc.

I recorded my last release on a beat boss 8 track, took the tracks to a studio with an engineer to do drums/some other overdubs, turned out pretty successful on a local band scale and was done with a reasonable budget for a guy who was 19 at the time. I have been working/recording this way since i was 13, now am 21 it is part of my writing process since I am not in a band.

To this point I have never simply went into the studio and built a track from scratch on the clock except one situation in which I had free time to experiment in a friend's studio.

I am torn between, and not enough of an engineer to answer these questions

1. A macbook pro, a good interface, quality 2 grand 2 channel pre/2 grand mic etc

to simply TRACK at home (not mix, or do drums which would be done in the studio)

vs

Spending the beginning to end in the studio.

Besides the lack of home room treatment (which can be added later) what advantage am I really going to have going to a studio to throw a 57 in front of my guitar amps/cutting a good vocal take if I have the same gear... besides professional mic placement

(I can record acoustic/electric/and vocals rather easily it seems from years of doing it

2. If you want the best, YOU MUST, go to the studio from day one, it is unrealistic to think that your end product will be as good as if you left it all in the studio's hands