The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Recording Electric GTRs in the Control Room
Old 3rd June 2011
Lives for gear

Hi all- we are looking to set up our control room where we can have the GTR heads here with us in the CR- and the cabs in the tracking room- and be able to patch the different heads to the different cabs.

Can anyone recommend patchbays or switchboxes that would help consolidate things for ease of swapping and keeping impedances proper as needed?

If anyone has set up something like this and can recommend the right kind of patchbays, cables, etc we would really appreciate it (especially since I'm a drummer

Many thanks!
Old 3rd June 2011
Check out Custom Audio Electronics - if they don't make what you need they can probably build it for you.
Old 3rd June 2011
Lives for gear

If the signal is muted there is no problem doing this with a conventional patch bay. But don't do it with a live signal for a/b comparisons. Especially running a head into output stage distortion.

Radial makes some speaker level switching devices that are safe. At least I've read posts by folks like Randall Aiken or Doug Roccaforte saying so. The Tonebone was the only thing they recommended unless you have some custom Bradshaw/Suhr box.

Speaking as a mostly performing guitarist (as opposed to studio rat living in cans) I really hate this practice. If the musician has any sort of tone production chops, being disconnected from their rig breaks the aural feedback loop they've developed over the years.