The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
If you're a new artist making an EP, should the quality...
Old 3rd June 2011
Gear Addict

If you're a new artist making an EP, should the quality...

...of the recordings be THE BEST? I'm recording/mixing/mastering an EP to launch my solo career. I'm a pop artist (think John Mayer, Bruno Mars, David Ryan Harris kind of music). My "marketing strategy" will go like this:

-Finish EP (6 songs plus 2 "bonus tracks" as a gift)

-Upload album FOR FREE for the first month on my artist website. (Album will be available through iTunes from the first day also.

-Take single to radio stations and get air play (this isn't too hard because in my country, dominican republic, I know a lot of people in the media so I can get decent airplay)

-Have an "album launch party" with an acoustic solo performance.

now, keep in mind I'm not sign, I don't have management, I'm doing ALL THIS myself. I recorded everything in my home studio with Superior Drummer, Logic, Metric Halo ULN-2 Expanded and high quality instruments and decent mics (AT4040, MD421, SM57, etc)

now..... here's my question..... do you think it's ok to deliver the album with an 80% quality? (being a full on professional album). I think my EP will end up sounding very very good, but not close to perfection..... I think the quality of the songs if high, arrangement wise...do you think people will notice that instead of noticing a not so professional sounding album?

I made a jingle a few months ago with the same gear and ended up on the radio, and people dug it a lot, no bad comments on the quality of the recording, but this time around I'll be marketing this and "selling it" on itunes and stuff.....

I guess I'm just a bit worried.
Old 3rd June 2011
Gear Addict