The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
andy wallace mixing new dream theater!
Old 26th May 2011
Lives for gear

andy wallace mixing new dream theater!

wow that's really amazing. i can't wait to see what his hands on mixing will sound like with such a dynamic band. i always wanted to hear these two entities merge. sucks that mike portnoy will not be the drummer though. although the album he tracked with avenged sevenfold was mixed by AW haha that's kind of ironic in a twister way.
Old 26th May 2011
Lives for gear

Ah, that's great!

As a drummer, I'm looking very much forward hearing how Mike Mangini plays on the new albuim and with AW - my favourite rock mixer - I bet it will be pretty organic sounding.

I stopped following DT about 10 years ago, but now with Mangini, I'm interested again. Great choice chosing AW to mix the album!

Greetings,
Dirk
Old 2nd July 2011
Lives for gear

First song released off the album.

YouTube - ‪Dream Theater - On The Backs Of Angels‬‏

definitely recommend 720p if possible...drums getting pretty buried at times on anything lower to me.
Old 2nd July 2011
Lives for gear

This should be good. I was never a Portnoy fan.
Old 14th September 2011
Lives for gear

The album is out in the US as of today. What do you guys think?

Some are complaining that the drums are buried in the mix, but I think they're all DT fans who are used to Portnoy's loud and clicky kick. I prefer this album's approach. Everything is sounding very balanced instead of DT's recent trend of all guitars and kick mixes. It's nice to hear bass and keys again in a DT mix.

I think Andy Wallace did an amazing job

BTW, the best tracks are easily "Bridges In The Sky" and "Breaking All Illusions" IMO...

This is probably the most inspired DT has sounded to me in about 10 years.
Old 14th September 2011
Lives for gear