The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Real Studio vs. Home Studio
Old 2nd May 2011
Here for the gear

Real Studio vs. Home Studio

Hello all,
First post and I will try to keep it short. I was just curious as to which road is most cost effective for a rapper making a mixtape with beats I will be using from the internet.

Should I just spend $600 or so on a decent home studio setup (I already have the cpu and studio monitors) and then send everything to someone to master?

Or should I go to a studio and record everything there and also have them master it?

The only audio program I have is Adobe Audition 3 and I have no idea if that is a good program or not to you guys. I am a complete amateur, n00b, and every other synonym when it comes to sound quality of a song, etc.

So, for a rap artist, with really zero knowledge on mixing and mastering, I was wondering what direction you guys would advise me to go. I appreciate the time and thank you for any responses.
Old 2nd May 2011
Gax
Lives for gear

Dont waste money on cheap gear, especially since you dont have any experience, just rent pro studio, its cheaper and you will get pro results if thats what you desire. Leave mixing to people who are doing that for a living.
Old 2nd May 2011
Gear Guru

First, $600 won't buy you a "decent" home setup. You'll need to add at least one or possibly two zero's (or three if you really want to do it full on) to that to have a "decent" setup.

Second, spending $600 will probably be the "cheapest" most "cost effective" alternative for you - however it won't be the best. Your recordings will probably sound like a guy that just bought a sequencer for $600 instead of one done by a professional.