The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Help Updgrading Monitors
Old 26th April 2011
Gear Maniac
Help Updgrading Monitors

Current Monitors: M-Audio BX5a + SBX10

I'm looking to upgrade to a pair of speakers that offer more clarity for precise mixing and mastering on a budget. I made of list below of my likely choices. Hopefully, any of these considerations will do well with the SBX10 Subwower, by which I plan to set a 50Hz Crossover.

Any experience and advice would be much appreciated.

Considerations:
M-Audio CX5
M-Audio DSM3
Digidesign RM1
JBL LSR4326P
Yamaha HS80M
Old 26th April 2011
Gear Head

If you're looking to step up your monitoring situation on a budget, buy a decent small amplifier (150 watts or less) and a set of these. AR18 BXi

I've been using my pair for a few years, they sound great, translate well, and you can still get replacement parts for them. They were studio standard speakers before NS10s became popular. I prefer them to NS10s in every way/shape/form. They're also a sealed cabinet so they're punchy as hell, and they still reach low enough that a 50hz crossover would work just fine. I use them without a sub.

Heres a picture. I put mine sideways because they sit just a little too tall on the riser when vertical.

(this is all my opinion of course)

Last edited by chicagoisonfire; 26th April 2011 at 05:36 PM.. Reason: adding info
Old 26th April 2011
Gear Maniac