The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Is battery power clean power?
Old 25th April 2011
Lives for gear

I'm not sure how else to ask the question, so that'll just be it.
Old 25th April 2011
Here for the gear

I'm no expert but I've always been told that battery power is the cleanest power. Dunno if thats cuz theres no "house current" in the mix?
Old 26th April 2011
I have a little experience with that, matter of fact alot. My studio runs on solar power, with a battery bank in the basement. No connection to the grid at all.

Whistle clean, yeah.
Old 26th April 2011
Gear Maniac

Battery power is generally very clean. There is no Alternating current from the power grid being converted to Direct current, and then filtered to remove the 60Hz pulses and the 120 Hz pulses that come from the rectifier circuit.

Now a battery can make noise, but it comes from chemicals acting at the atomic level moving electrons.

So as a rule of thumb battery power is clean as a whistle, but you still might need to connect the equipment to ground (Earth) to help keep out noise in the air from magnetic and electromagnetic sources being induced in wires.

BF
Old 26th April 2011
Lives for gear

I'd say def yes...a friend makes valve hifi amps, and when he tests them he turns all his mains off and runs off big batteries in his workshop
Old 26th April 2011
Gear Maniac

+1 here as well!

Off grid, solar and wind and battery powered! Extremely clean power!

Jeff

Quote:
Originally Posted by joelpatterson View Post
I have a little experience with that, matter of fact alot. My studio runs on solar power, with a battery bank in the basement. No connection to the grid at all.

Whistle clean, yeah.
Old 26th April 2011
Lives for gear

battery power is very clean DC , but many installations use a poor quality conversion to AC so you can end up with pretty bad battery based systems.