The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Radar!!
Old 24th April 2011
Gear Maniac

Radar!!

Ok here's the deal, I'm a young engineer who's been using daws since I started recording (sonar and pro tools) but now I've been offered the chance to loan a radar system with a view to buying it if I like it!

I'm really excited about this and can't wait to do it, I like to almost use pro tools and a tape machine and console by insisting on good performances and as such keeping editing to a minimum.

Is there anything radar will offer that pro tools doesn't? Does it have it's own sound? Is there any drawbacks to it?

Pete
Old 24th April 2011
Lives for gear
You must have a console to use radar....to that in a given.

Radar is a great unit, particularly if you want the recording experience of analog in the digital world.

That said, I have learned to run a session on PT so that it isn't an impediment to speed, so I am a little baffled when someone touts that as a reason to use Radar. At this point, its six of one and half dozen of another. Use what you are comfortable with.
Old 24th April 2011
Lives for gear

sound + reliability
Old 24th April 2011
Lives for gear
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steffmo View Post
You must have a console to use radar....
noooo
Old 24th April 2011
Lives for gear
Quote:
Originally Posted by brrecording View Post
Is there anything radar will offer that pro tools doesn't?
sound quality

Quote:
Originally Posted by brrecording View Post
Is there any drawbacks to it?
it's only a multitrack, not a full blown DAW
Old 24th April 2011
MLM
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by robertshaw View Post
noooo

I can't figure this out. How?

Lanois has a nice setup with external preamps into the radar, but it goes in a console eventually.
Old 24th April 2011
Lives for gear