The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Avalon U5 help......
Old 20th March 2011
Gear Head

Avalon U5 help......

Newbie here......

I have just bought a U5 to run synths through. It came with no manual worth talking about and there is nothing on Avalon's site regarding connecting things up so I have a couple of questions before I damage anything or maybe simply not get the most out of this thing:

(Question 1) OK, I run a cable from the synth into the HI Z input on the front - should this be balanced TRS or is unbalanced ok (the sockets on the back outputs are balanced) ,I am running no more than about 15 feet.?

(Question 2) - I wil want to play around with this without the need to go into the computer so I will run the two balanced outs on the back into the speakers and if I want to go into the computer I will simply run these into ins 3 and 4 on my M-Audio Profire 610.....right?
Oh, wait a minute....on the two balanced speaker outputs on the back one says "mic level" and the other says "line level" - not two PAIRS of speaker outs, but ONE pair, one being mic level and the other being line level......now I am really confused.

(Question 3) There is a "speaker in" socket on the back......What is this for?

(Question 5) There is an "earth switch" toggle on the back - toggle up is "earth lift" and toggle down is a symbol with a down pointing arrow ....what does this all mean?

Ok, sorry, those "two" questions turned into five but once I know the answers to these I am good to go.
I know this is a simple piece of gear, I just don't want to damage anything before I actually get to use it.
Thanks

Thanks
Old 20th March 2011
Lives for gear

those are not speaker outs, it's not an interface. They are mic and line level balanced outputs to go into mic pres or your audio interface etc. you don't connect speakers to these.

Posted via the Gearslutz iPhone app
Old 20th March 2011
Lives for gear