The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Monitor decisions...
Old 4th March 2011
Monitor decisions...

I'm setting up my new studio currently, and I have to make a decision with what monitors to use.

I have JBL 4326's, and NS-10m's (not the studio ones)+a sub. The big question is - do I use the JBL's, the NS-10m's, both, or something else?

First, I'm not an engineer - I'm just a musician who tries to make his mixes sound decent across all systems.

I've been using the JBL's for a year now, but I wanted to move to NS-10m's because I've mixed on them a few times now and while I'm not at all an engineer, things turned out better on the NS-10's. However, the NS-10's were in a well treated room, and the JBL's were in a terribly treated room.

Now, if I do use the NS-10m's (which are not the studio ones - worth selling and getting studios?), I will need a power amp. Probably a monitor controller too, since hooking a power amp -> powered sub -> ns-10m's sounded absolutely terribly. Muddy low end on the NS-10's.

Last option: go buy different monitors?
Old 7th March 2011
Anyone?
Old 7th March 2011
LX3
Lives for gear

My main reaction to this one is that the room is a much bigger influence on the sound of a pair of monitors than most people realise.

The best monitors on earth will sound like junk in a bad room. Middle-of-the-road monitors can sound fantastic in a good room.

My concept of a good or bad room includes not only bass trapping and other treatment, but also how the monitors are positioned, what they're placed on, what other bits of kit or furniture might be in the way (e.g. monitors on a ringy shelf only a foot above a mixing desk, or firing into the back of LCD monitors, etc)