The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Recommendation thread for a newbie
Old 26th February 2011
Gear Nut

Recommendation thread for a newbie

Hi everyone.
As u can see, in new to this forum...actually im really new to this all genre.
Just started buying stuff for home recording (already got an audio interface and monitors, headphones are coming soon too).

Now, i want to add an important part to my recording projects....vocals.
My knowledge im the mics area is very pure for the moment.
i need you to recommend me a nice mike which will do the job for any kind of vox (from regular male\female vox to screaming-growling death metal vox...yea, i do that too...).
something not too expansive....entry level if i may say, just for basic nice home recording.

please mention the exact full name of the product so it will be easy to be found :D

lots of thanks in advanced.
Old 26th February 2011
Gear Nut

someone ?
Old 26th February 2011
Gear Addict

Your question is really really general.

how much money do you have?

what preamp are you using?

that should be a good start
Old 26th February 2011
Gear Addict

I'd hazard a guess at a nice Large Diaphragm Condenser, Rode and SE do nice budget ones. I have the SE2200a myself, does the trick nicely for the price.

Have a look for Rode and SE mics in your local shops, do some research, read some reviews, see which one you like the sound of and fits in your budget, and enjoy. Make sure you have Phantom Power on whatever interface/Pre you have.
Old 26th February 2011
Gear Nut

I use TC Electronic Konnekt 6 audio interface.
the condenser will be connected to it. (it has 48V phantom power).

I dont know how much money i want to spend on it because i dont know the market well and it dont know how much should it cost.
Old 26th February 2011
RTR
Lives for gear