The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Small preamp (or something else)
Old 20th February 2011
Gear Head

Small preamp (or something else)

Hello

I started playing my clarinet and bass clarinet with a pickup. This has a regular PL output cable (we call it PL here, I'm not sure what it's called elsewhere, this is the normal type cable/plug you use to connect an electric guitar to an amp).

I understand that having my own preamp could help the signal a lot. I'm not sure why, since I don't know much about this, but a friend who uses a similar pickup said this got him a much better signal. Then I heard the same from another player who uses a similar pickup. I was also told this by a sound engineer who tried to amplify me directly connected to the console. I'm not sure why this is, since the console/mixer has a preamp (I assume). Some guessed it might be to do with the distance (cable length) from pickup to preamp, which might be less noisy if much closer.

So, I'm looking for a preamp. Or possibly one of those units with preamp and EQ etc. One channel is good. It doesn't need phantom but I guess all come with it. Price is very important but quality is too. Though, this pickup is mostly used for loud stages, playing with electric instruments, or using effect pedals, so the tone is not as natural or good as a real clip on mic (which I have too). So signal quality is more important than any type of sound colour etc. which is not so important. I can find what price I'm willing to spend after I know some options that are available (also considering prices here are usually much higher than in USA for example).

Thank you.
Old 20th February 2011
Here for the gear