The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Recording studio size/dimensions/layout? For a HOME STUDIO? Effects Pedals, Units & Accessories
Old 12th February 2011
Lives for gear
Recording studio size/dimensions/layout? For a HOME STUDIO?

So, what do you think the smallest amount of space you could get away with would be to record a full band setting? Drums, guitars, bass, synths, piano, vox, acoustic instruments, etc. Including control room etc?

Must be of high quality/pro quality. To be used for marketable music.

How would you go about it in a house? Living room (typically biggest) for tracking, master br for CR?

Thanks for your thoughts
Old 12th February 2011
Lives for gear

I'm working out of a converted in-law unit on the back of my house. I have a control room in the master bedroom thats 12' x 15'. It's not amazingly big, but seems to work ok at the moment. The living room (big room) is 20' x 17' with an amazing sloped ceiling (drums sound huge). There is a smaller room to the side of the big room that has the same sloped ceiling. It's 10' x 12'. There is also a smaller bedroom that's 8' x 9'.

I just had a 9 piece Reggae band in here a month or so ago. There was plenty of space for everyone. Tracked the whole band live in the big room. Vocalists in the smaller room. No need for overdubs. Usually when I track bands, we do the drums first and work from there doing everything via overdubs, but this band didn't have the time or the $$. The bleed wasn't bad, but I had gobos up everywhere. Regardless, I hate dealing with any bleed at all, so its not what I call 'ideal'.

If you check out the youtube link in my sig, in the first video you can see a band playing live in my big room. Might help you get an idea of how much space you can have in a 20' x 17' room, with a four piece band.
Old 12th February 2011
Lives for gear
Quote: