The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Audio engineering/recording school vs. Invest/learn in your own studio
View Poll Results: Audio engineering/recording school vs. Invest/learn in your own studio
Learn from the pros at a state of the art facility
17 Votes - 15.89%
Learn as you go and get some killer gear while you're at it.
57 Votes - 53.27%
Depends on each individual situation (aka the "thanks for nothing" answer!)
33 Votes - 30.84%
Voters: 107. You may not vote on this poll

Old 26th January 2006
Gear Head

Audio engineering/recording school vs. Invest/learn in your own studio

I looked into recording schools in the LA area, and for a state of the art, full time for 6 months course, it seems they're in the $10-17k range. I'm wondering if it is worth it, or if a better decision would be to invest that money into a private studio and learn on my own.

Some additional info:
I'm a musician first, and would be learning to produce my own music. I'm not looking to run a studio, but would probably try to pay some bills by doing some work for amateur musicians.
I'm hoping to make my career as a performer/artist rather than a studio owner or engineer/producer for another studio.

Can anyone recommend a good school? I saw references to Full Sail and SAE (not ideal) and Berklee and USC in other threads. (preferably in Southern California)
Old 26th January 2006
Gear Maniac

i would say buy your own equipment and learn it.
Old 26th January 2006
Lives for gear

Find a private tutor and buy gear. You can sell it and get most of your money back if you decide engineering isn't for you.

Those schools are not worth the money - you can't start a paying job as an engineer when you get out anyway, so the diploma itself is worthless.

Old 26th January 2006
Lives for gear

Yeah man, just ask around (liek in this forum) to give you ponter on what you should get, buy it used (so, you save some money) and also there are a lot of books that will teach you what to do.