The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Roland JV-1080 HELP?!?! Keyboard Controllers
Old 2nd January 2011
Roland JV-1080 HELP?!?!

Hey guys, I picked up a JV-1080 today for $170 and also got the Super Sound Set expansion card with it. I'm also looking to pick up the techno and dance card as well...That said, this thing sounds amazing...It blew me away. I plugged my oxygen 49 into it and the sounds are perfect...I recognized more than a few from hit records of the last 15 years.

I'm new to logic. 3 months in. I can program midi using piano roll and record audio no problem. I can edit pretty well too. I'm not a newbie at audio recording, I came from Pro Tools, but I'm a newbie to logic and serious midi recording.

All I want to do it take the midi tracks that I have already programmed and use the sounds in the JV on those tracks. How do I do this?
I've read some forums about message banks and multi instruments and logic environments...these are terms i've never heard before...where do i start?

when all these guys are doing all that are they loading the roland sounds into logic to then use without the roland connected? if so, then i guess its worth the work and figuring out.

if anyone can help id really appreciate it
Old 3rd January 2011
Lives for gear

You just send the midi you've recorded out to the JV. If you want to record the audio it produces back into Logic, you connect it to the audio inputs of your interface, arm a track and hit record.

They probably have a way to set the instrument up like Cubase does--defining what in and out it's on permanently so that it becomes an available "instrument" along side your virtual ones...but, why bother? Unless you just happen to have two analog inputs you want to permanently tie up to the 1080.
Old 3rd January 2011
Lives for gear